English Language Arts Curriculum

The development of English language learning skills is a continuous, lifelong process. UCSD’s English—Language Arts program helps students use language interactively for all of its functions, differing purposes, and varying audiences. Learning experiences focus on meaningful uses of language as students acquire powerful strategies for critical, logical, and creative thinking and language learning. This program focuses on communication situations in reading, writing, speaking, visual and non-verbal expression, listening, and viewing. An effective, integrated English—Language Arts program is language-oriented and student-centered; appealing to all learning styles. This approach beckons students to engage, to explore, and to discover the power and joy of language use, and prepares them for the diverse literacy demands of the future.

The Iowa Academic Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy have been studied as educators have worked to revise the UCSD English—Language Arts Curriculum to align with Iowa Academic Literacy Standards Iowa Academic K-12 Literacy sets cross-disciplinary literacy expectations for students to enter college and workforce training programs ready to succeed. The grade-specific standards define end of year expectations and cumulative progress to meet college and career readiness expectations.

UCSD Board-Approved Curriculum

Detailed curriculum information by grade level is provided below. Click on each section to view the associated curriculum PDFs.

High School Language Arts

9th Grade:

10th Grade:

Strand A: Persuasive/Nonfiction

  • Grade 11 12 Strand A English Curriculum
    • Experiences in Literature and Writing I
    • Heroes
    • Lifelong Learner II
    • Life Skills English
    • Modern History Through Literature and Writing
    • Power of Persuasion in Literature and Writing
    • Sports Literature and Writing

Strand B: Narrative/Fiction

  • Grade 11 12 Strand B English Curriculum
    • American Literature and Writing
    • Creative Writing
    • Experiences in Literature and Writing II
    • Lifelong Learner I
    • Multicultural Literature and Writing
    • Reading and Writing for the Stage

DMACC Courses/AP Courses:


Learn More

Iowa Academic Literacy Standards – The Iowa Academic Literacy Standards were adopted by the Iowa State Board of Education and integrate the work of the  State Standards Initiative with an additional seven standards that apply exclusively to Iowa schools. The standards are broken into the categories of English Language Arts for grades K-12 and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects for grades 6-12.